Fulton County Living
      Fulton County has a very long and interesting history. Going back to the time when the
Indians lived and hunted these lands. The area that is now Fulton County was earlier known
as Tryon County. It was named after
Governor Tryon. Tryon made up both Montgomery
and Fulton counties. On April 2nd, 1784, a bill was introduced to create a new county. The
people of the county agreed to this because of the hatred of Governor Tryon.  
On April 18th, 1838, Fulton County was created by a legislative act in obedience to general
public sentiments. It is named after the inventor of the steamboat, Robert Fulton. The
removal of the county buildings from Johnstown to Fonda rendered the population of the
then northern part of Montgomery county so indignant that the erection of the new county
was but an act of justice. Fulton county originally contained nine towns, including Perth,
whose organization was contemporary with that of the county itself. Caroga, however, was
added April 11th, 1842, having been created out of Stratford, Bleecker and Johnstown.
      The principal water source, in the beginning, was the Sacandaga river, which flowed
southeast through the town of Northampton. It received from the west the waters of the
Vlaie, which had for its tributaries Mayfield, Kennyetto and Cranberry creeks. The
Chuctenunda flows through the southeast part of the county. The Cayadutta courses
southwest near the center, its valley separating the central and eastern ranges of hills. Stony
creek, a tributary of the Sacandaga, flows northeast in the northerly continuation of the
Garoga valley, and winds through the central ranges of hills. Garoga creek, which flows
south, is a little west of the center of the county, its valley separating the eastern and central
ranges. East Canada creek forms the greater part of the western boundary, its tributaries
being North, Fish and Little Sprite creeks. Along the Sacandaga, near the mouth of the
Mayfield creek, and occupying portions of Northampton, Broadalbin and Mayfield, was an
extensive swamp or vlaie, containing about twelve thousand acres.
Early on the region was occupied by the Iroquois Confederacy, or the Five, and
subsequently, the Six Nations.
Books on Fulton
County, New York
Maps of Fulton
County, New York